Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Erickson187

Hi. I'm a long time Android user, currently using a Galaxy S3, but am seriously considering switching to a WP8 device. I run Win8 Pro on one of my laptops, and have a Surface RT tablet which I love. I figure a WP8 phone would be great just to get everything "in the family".

I don't want to switch from VZW to another carrier as I am a long haul trucker and get the best 4G coverage through them.

I have looked at both the HTC 8X and the Lumia 822 in a VZW store, have read all of the various reviews I could find on the web, and have been reading these forums for several days. I still can't quite decide which one I want to buy and keep flip flopping between them.

I really love the look and feel of the 8X, but have read about of lot of issues with them regarding SIM cards and random reboots, as well as them being very easily broken.

On the other hand I like that the Lumia has a replaceable battery, but have read that the call quality on the 822 is sub-par and there may be reboot issues related to using Bluetooth with them (totally unacceptable to me as I am required by law, and common sense, to use Bluetooth while driving).

So, here I am, sitting on the fence and unable to decide which way to go. I should say also that I am not eligible yet for an upgrade and so will be paying full retail for whichever one I decide to buy, but the cost difference between the two isn't a major issue.

The ability to add storage isn't a big issue for me either way, I don't store tons of music or video files on my phone. While I prefer a nice high resolution screen, I don't watch a lot of videos on my phone so that isn't a deal breaker either.

Mainly, I want as reliable a WP8 phone as possible. That's my highest priority. Good call quality, both with and without Bluetooth, is very important.

So help me out folks. Those who have used either (or both) of these phones for any length of time, what's the truth (or not) about the issues with them?