Welcome to the WPCentral Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Windows 8 on smartphone, tablet ,pc, apps run in all hardware ...

Global Posts
    1,153 Global Posts
    Yeah, we've known of this for months

I think it's great that Microsoft wants to be able to run any app in all three ecosystems....i don't give up my wp...😊😊😊
    Developer

Global Posts
    1,495 Global Posts
    As a developer I want that more than anything. It will change the experience a lot since I could basically develop one app (with tweaks for diff OSes) for Win Phone, Win 8 , XBox and any devices that support Modern UI. Exciting times. I also want MSFT to develop Office touch which seems to be in development as the rumors suggest. Seems that they want to get rid of the desktop
    Laura Knotek and xandros9 like this.

A more tight ecosystem is more than required, maybe is one of the reasons that stop people buying RT tablets because investing so much on your Windows Phone and none of that you see on your RT tablet, no good that's for sure. And the app count would go up in an unique system than a separate ecosystem, so finally will stop people saying WP o RT "no appzzz no gamezzz"

Global Posts
    1,076 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crash1989 View Post
    Seems that they want to get rid of the desktop
    I think that could be the worst business decision of all time (worse even than IBM circa 1982).
    MS marketshare in smart phones: <5%
    MS marketshare in tablets: <5%
    MS marketshare in laptops/desktops: >90%

I think I can say with some confidence that Microsoft will not get rid of the desktop.
    a5cent and Cleavitt76 like this.